Profile: Annie Kanter, Arts & Culture Ambassador

Aug 15, 2018

Born and raised in Cincinnati, Annie Kanter never thought she would return home. But now she's back after 10 years in NYC and D.C., and happy to call Cincy her home! With a background in tech and entertainment PR, Annie has recently switched gears to work in real estate development. She loves all things culture, coffee, travel, poetry and fitness. You’ll likely find her hanging in Washington Park or on her rooftop in OTR with her dog, throwing early morning dance parties or discovering the city’s coolest events.  

You know you live in Cincinnati when....

When you meet someone new and they ask where you went to high school because everyone always asks that in Cincinnati! 

 

What’s your favorite place in Cincinnati? And why?

Washington Park. It’s a garden in Over the Rhine and people from all walks of life come here to picnic, or go for a walk, and it’s just a lovely atmosphere. I love green-spaces in urban environments. And it’s a clean park, not dirty - not compared to New York.

 

What’s your favorite thing to do in Cincinnati?

Explore Over the Rhine. I love finding new bars or restaurants and just strolling around.

 

Two truths and a lie. (Find the lie at the end of profile)

I spent a summer traveling solo in Europe.

I lived on an island for a year.

I’m bilingual.

 

Best concert you’ve been to.

Phish concert for New Years Eve in Madison Square Garden - it was awesome!

 

Favorite season, and why.

Fall because it’s pretty, the weather’s nice, and I like fall clothes... and also it’s my birthday.

 

Spirit animal.

Panda. I’ve been obsessed with Pandas since i was little. They do there own thing, they’re independent, they lay around and sleep, and they’re so cute.

 

Drink of choice?

Dirty Gin Martini

 

Sufganiyot or latke?

A sufgani-what? I prefer a latke.

 

Lox or Tuna on your bagel?

Lotsa Lox

 

Favorite Jewish holiday?

Shabbat because it’s super chill and there is no pressure to be super religious. It’s a time when everyone can come together, to eat and drink after a long week.

 

Travel bucket list.

Morocco and South Africa are on the top of my list right now, but I have many more.

 

Strongest childhood memory

When my brother Sammy and my cousins Sophie & Molly - Jeremy usually watched - used to put on plays and made music videos at our grandparents.

 

What does an ideal day look like to you?

Sleep in, brunch outside with my friends, hang out in the park all day with my dog Charlie. And then a little later maybe drink in the park, then bar hop in OTR at night. 

 

The world could use a little more...

Sunshine. Not nature-wise, in people☺

 

A piece of advice you would give 13 year old you?

It’s good to be different. Just do you.

 

What's the best piece you’ve recently read or watched?

TV Show: Who is America?
Rupi Kaur: The Sun & Her Flowers

 

Interesting hobby that you have that most people wouldn’t know about you.

I like going to random pop-up dinners, like when a local chef puts on an experiential dinners – those are a lot of fun!

 

A question you’ve always wanted to ask a Rabbi?

I’ll just ask my brother☺

 

Lie: I am not bilingual... yet.


Other news

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.